We have had reports of cyber criminals imitating court telephone numbers (“spoofing”) and demanding that citizens pay money for fines or fees in cases involving relatives. These calls are not valid. New Mexico Courts will never call citizens to ask for payments of any kind.

Golden clouds at sunset

Fifth Judicial District Court

a

Explore Section

Home

The 5th District and Magistrate Courts will remain open during regular court business hours.

IMPORTANT: Wearing a face mask is REQUIRED to enter the courthouse per NM Supreme Court Order.

Individuals should consider the following prior to entering court facilities:

New Mexico Judicial Branch COVID-19 Court Facility Screening Questions

If you answer “yes” to any of the questions, you may stop answering the screening questions, you are NOT PERMITTED IN THE BUILDING.

 

Si responde “sí” a cualquiera de las preguntas, puede dejar de responder las preguntas de evaluación, usted NO PUEDE ENTRAR AL EDIFICIO.

 

Within the past 14 days, have you left New Mexico or traveled to New Mexico from a location outside of the State or outside the United States? (If you are a participant in a court proceeding that is occurring today or court ordered to be here, please answer “other”)

En los últimos 14 días, ¿ha salido de Nuevo México o ha viajado a Nuevo México desde un lugar fuera del Estado o fuera de los Estados Unidos? (Si usted es un participante en un proceso judicial que se está llevando a cabo hoy o el tribunal ordenó estar aquí, por favor responda “otro”)

________________________________________________________

Have you been asked by the New Mexico Department of Health to self-quarantine because of COVID-19 and are you still within the quarantine period?

¿Se le ha pedido permanecer en auto-cuarentena por el Departamento de Salud de Nuevo México debido al COVID-19 y está todavía dentro del período de cuarentena?

________________________________________________________

 

Within the past 14 days, have you been diagnosed with COVID-19 by a doctor?

En los últimos 14 días, ¿ha sido diagnosticado con COVID-19 por un médico?
________________________________________________________

 

Within the past 14 days, have you had a positive test results for COVID-19 from a testing center or by the Department of Health?

En los últimos 14 días, ¿ha sido diagnosticado con COVID-19 por un médico?

________________________________________________________

 

In the past 14 days, have you been in contact with anyone who you know has COVID-19, or with someone who is required to self-quarantine by the New Mexico Department of Health?

En los últimos 14 días, ¿ha estado en contacto con alguien que sabe que tiene COVID-19 o con alguien a quin se le requiere permanecer en auto-cuarentena por el Departamento de Salud de Nuevo México?

________________________________________________________

 

Within the past 14 days, have you had a fever at or above 100.4 degrees, chills, sore throat, body aches, or headaches?

En los últimos 14 días, ¿ha tenido fiebre de más de 100.4 grados, escalofríos, dolor de garganta, dolores de cuerpo o de cabeza?

________________________________________________________

 

Within the past 14 days, have you developed new shortness of breath, difficulty breathing, or dry cough?

En los últimos 14 días, ¿ha desarrollado un nuevo problema de respiración, dificultad para respirar o tos seca?

________________________________________________________

 

Have you recently developed a loss of taste or smell?

¿Ha desarrollado recientemente una pérdida de sabor u olor?

 

If you answer “yes” to any of these questions and you have a scheduled hearing or are otherwise ordered to appear at one of the courthouses, please contact the appropriate party prior to your scheduled appointment:

  1. If you are represented by an attorney, please contact your attorney;
  2. If you are an attorney and are scheduled to appear in court before a judge, please contact that chambers directly.
  3. If you are a juror, please contact the Jury Division at the numbers previously provided to you.

 

IMPORTANT: Wearing a face mask is REQUIRED to enter the courthouse per NM Supreme Court Order

If you are not a party in a case, we are requesting you consider not attending hearings.

Although hearings are open to the public, there will be restrictions on the number of individuals allowed in the courtroom.

Court contact information

Chaves County District Court: 575-622-2212

Roswell Magistrate Court: 575-624-6088

Eddy County District Court: 575-885-4740

Carlsbad Magistrate Court: 575-885-3218

Lea County District Court: 575-396-8571

Lovington Magistrate Court: 575-396-6677

Artesia Magistrate Court: 575-746-2481

Eunice Magistrate Court: 575-394-3368 (M,W,F)

Hobbs Magistrate Court: 575-397-3621

Jal Magistrate Court: 575-396-8571 (Tues. Thurs.)

 

 

 

Please check this page for any changes to hours of operation.

Chaves County Courthouse – New Addition

400 N. Virginia Roswell, NM 88201
Phone: 575-622-2212

Eddy County Courthouse

102 North Canal Carlsbad, NM 88220
Phone: 575-885-4740

Lea County Courthouse

100 North Main Lovington, NM 88260
Phone: 575-396-8571

Shutterstock Image of a clock with the time of 4 pm.

Hours of Operation

Chaves, Eddy and Lea County District Court Clerks Offices are open from 8 a.m.-12 p.m. and from 1-5 p.m. Monday through Friday (we are closed from 12-1 p.m.)

A shutterstock image of a compass pointing to the word law.

NEW – Self-Represented Litigants Guide

Learn More